Skip to content

Gchat: Office Nemesis Number One

October 22, 2009

I love Gchat. Who doesn’t? Not just Gchat, though. All chat. No fewer than two message portals are open on my screen throughout the day, and sometimes that goes up to four: work email, Gmail, Twitter and Facebook. I check for the little green globs on my Gmail every few minutes and I’ll engage at random, on any vague whim, with or without something to say, usuall the latter.

Great, right? A communication junkie like me in a permanent touch-type heaven. People naysay our infomaniac culture, our twitchy fingers, but I think it’s just great. I talk to friends in Tel Aviv, New York and Boston, and Toulouse for free, issuing jaunty little patters of expression and tidbits of info. Cute! Convenient! Liberating! Free!

Except at work. It’s an addiction that ruins all in its path. I routinely carve a chat-shaped hole through whatever I’m writing. Whatever happened to concentration? It has been zapped, shredded and conquered by the lure of chat.

Who knew there was so much to chat about? At 2pm while you’re trying to write something about affordable housing? Does “hi hon, how art?” really need to be directed towards the two familiar green blobs on the left hand side, while an urgent article about cupcakes has to be written?It appears so.

No Gchat, more work. Yet lacking the discipline that came so naturally to our forefathers (so I’m told), I’m not sure I’m going to be able to do anything about this. The call of the little green blob is just too strong.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ms Gstring permalink
    October 28, 2009 2:27 am

    A message from Gstring by Gmail. I don’t do Gchat.
    G_d help us.
    I suggest that your next article address all important words starting with G.
    Back to work ahmm!

Leave a Reply

