Skip to content

Your own wedding is no place to meet men, sadly

October 31, 2010

On returning from a super-fun, super-lovely wedding of happiness in Cork, I today reflected – yet again – on my own wedding. (The one that will occur when…erm…yep). In the last few months I’ve decided on a Rajasthani palace (just like Russell and Katy), a little rotunda in a seaside village in New England, an Israeli beach, a Mauritian beach and a Roman hotel.

But now, I think I might not bother with a big fun great weddding.

Because I realised for the first time that your own wedding is the biggest bash you’ll ever be at where you can’t do either of my favourite activities: drink loads and meet men. So what’s the point? I’ll keep it tiny and possibly booze-free, thanks – after all, I’d hate to feel I was missing out at my own party. The Indian palace is out. Here is my new list of wedding spots:

A supermarket

A single motel room off a highway

A doctor’s office

The office

A dentist’s office

Swiss Cottage library

The gym

Amen – and chin chin.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Olivia permalink
    November 1, 2010 5:55 pm

    Another solution, Zoe, is to marry yourself – like this Taiwanese lady. That way you could still meet men at the wedding… http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE69O0AP20101025?feedType=RSS&feedName=lifestyleMolt

  2. Rachel permalink
    November 4, 2010 11:45 am

    darling, it’s karma. your friends, when they got married, gave you the chance to have memorable..ahem, occasions. i mean, there has to be some reason to over-spend on that dress you buy, right? so, you need to do it for them. what goes around, comes around. here’s to hoping?

Leave a Reply

